Exclusive: Biffy Clyro hope to release new music before Christmas

Mon the Biff!

Biffy's Clyro's Simon Neil at The Q Awards
Author: Scott ColothanPublished 21st Oct 2019
Last updated 27th Feb 2020

Speaking to Absolute Radio’s Danielle Perry backstage at The Q Awards, Biffy Clyro’s Simon Neil says the trio hope to unleash new music before the end of 2019.

The ever-genial frontman caught up with Danielle on The Q Awards red carpet at The Roundhouse a night after Biffy Clyro played a storming, sold-out pre-show concert at the venue.

More accustomed to gargantuan festival shows and stadia, Simon told Danielle the show was a welcome return to relatively intimate surroundings.

“We had probably our favourite show in a couple of years actually, it was unreal,” Simon said. “We’ve been in the studio for the past couple of months so to come out of hibernation and kind of reconnect with people was incredible. It was our first indoor show for two years, which I can’t quite believe, so yeah the intensity was quite different but loved it!”

Asked if Biffy Clyro played any new music at the show, Simon replied: “We didn’t actually. We brought out a soundtrack record this year (‘Balance, Not Symmetry’ in May) so we had the first chance to play a few songs off that but it felt a little too early to play the brand new ones. They’re close but they’re not quite there yet.”

Revealing that new music might arrive sooner than many fans think, Simon added: “We’ll hopefully have a song out before Christmas and our album will be out at the start of next year.”

You can watch the full interview with Simon Neil below where he also revealed how Fender Play Award winner Anna Calvi is an influence, plus exactly what makes The Q Awards so special:

A total of 18 Q Awards were dished out last Wednesday night (16th October) with The 1975, Lana Del Rey, Foals, Stormzy, Christine & The Queens, Madness and Lewis Capaldi among the big winners.

The Q Awards 2019 full winners list.

Check out the rest of our red carpet interviews below with Foals’ Yannis Philippakis, the inimitable Lewis Capaldi, The 1975’s Matty Healy and Pulp legend Jarvis Cocker.

Absolute Radio

Heart Of Glass by Blondie